Sponsors & Support

Sponsors & Support

Native Hawaiian Education Program

The E Ho‘omau! materials were produced under a grant from the Native Hawaiian Education Program of the U.S. Department of Education. However, these contents do not necessarily represent the policy of the U.S. Department of Education, and you should not assume endorsement by the Federal Government.

Atherton Family Foundation

The E Ho‘omau! website was developed under a grant from the Atherton Family Foundation 2011.

Kamehameha Schools

Kamehameha Schools provided E Ho‘omau! with Hawaiian cultural consultation, a critical element in the development of all the materials. In addition, the Kamehameha Kapālama campus provided for a group of high school students to contribute artistic input.

Hawai‘i Department of Education

Additional production support was provided by the Extended Learning Opportunities and Student Support Section, Department of Education

Other Consultation and Support

PREL gratefully acknowledges the support of the following organizations in the development of selected program materials and curriculum:

  • Bishop Museum
  • Haha‘ione Elementary School
  • Harold L. Lyon Arboretum
  • Hawai‘i Audubon Society
  • Hawai‘i Volcano Observatory
  • ‘Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawai‘i
  • Institute for Astronomy, University of Hawai‘i
  • Ke Kula ‘o Samuel M. Kamakau
  • The Lyman Museum
  • The Nature Conservancy Maui Invasive Species Committee
  • Pacific Tsunami Museum
  • R.H. Hagemeyer Pacific Tsunami Warning Center
  • State of Hawai‘i, Department of Land and Natural Resources
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Western Pacific Regional Fishery Management Council


The staff of E Ho‘omau! gratefully acknowledges the encouragement and assistance of the administration and support staff of PREL.

Sharon Nelson-Barber, EdD, President and CEO
Paul Dumas, Chief Programs Officer
Gwen Okamoto, Chief Finance Officer
Chuck Giuli
Alice Taum, PhD
Malkeet Singh, PhD

Production Assistants
Bernadette Frank
Frances Oshiro
Pamela Suga
Curriculum Advisors
Susan Hanson
Cheryl Taitague